Pages: 1

Security File (declared from security@e-gold.com)

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: Salty

sent to my email not used for any EG acct.
its definitely a fake email containing trojans.

the head of the email:

Quote:

Received: (eyou send program); Fri, 01 Oct 2004 01:45:23 +0800
Message-ID: <296566323.06695@myemailXX.com>
Received: from unknown (HELO eyou.net) (192.168.0.2)
by 192.168.0.98 with SMTP; Fri, 01 Oct 2004 01:45:23 +0800
Received: (eyou send program); Fri, 01 Oct 2004 01:41:21 +0800
Message-ID: <296566081.14068@eyou.net>
Received: from 213.23.199.191 by 61.132.222.51 with SMTP; Fri, 01 Oct 2004 01:41:07 +0800
Message-ID: <20040910939.24071.qmail@e-gold.com>
Date: Thu, 30 Sep 2004 17:45:49 +0000
From: <security@e-gold.com>
Subject: Security File
To: <xxx@myemail.com>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/mixed; boundary="----------ED1CE801754D5AD"

too many folders here, i am even not sure if its in the proper folder.



Posted by: forwardone

Salty, thanks for the advance warning.

Do you know what the purpose behind such an email is? You say it contains Trojans, so is that just to harm your own computer, or is it to attempt to spread them to other users?

Geoff



Posted by: khoong25

i think in this times, its highly likely they are interested in doing the following things:

1. Use your computer as a drone to launch DDOS.
2. Plant a keylogger in your computer to get banking/financial details.
3. Plant spyware to track your surfing habits and then sell them etc...
4. FUN ? Highly unlikely, and you'd actually prefer if they were just doing it for fun, at least all that is affected is your computer, can always reformat and set it up again. Whereas if they took your cash in the bank, that's obviously alot more grief there.



Posted by: golddust

Whoever is sending it out is persistant, must have a mission as you have suggested. I received it twice, first time with all the headers and letter of explanation, second time, no email, just attachments. Didn't open either.
When ever I receive something like this supposedly from egold, I always send an immediate "reply" back to verify it is from egold. So far every time, the mail is returned as "undeliverable".
Scumbags!

golddust




eXTReMe Tracker