Pages: 1

Freeloanopp- Surely A Scam?

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: forwardone

Now I reckon this has to be a scam. I`m not posting the URL because I`ve read that they have some `nasties` which you will come away with (well, your computer will) if you do visit.

Is it a clone of FLO? By that I mean in name only, not it`s way of doing `business.`

Quote:
Important update from freeloanopp.com

Firstly, allow me to wish all of you a very happy New
Year. It's been a longer than expected wait but finally
we are ready to proceed with our unique program.
However, there is also some bad news...

The bank we contracted with had previously agreed to
absorb all shipping costs. Considering the thousands
of dollars they would earn per person in terms of bank
fees, we felt it was only fair this way. The bank has
now decided that we must pay all shipping costs.
Unfortunately this means that if you want to take part,
we require a REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT of $40 to pay for
courier fees (so that the bank can send you the
agreement you need to sign and return).

We thought about paying this fee ourselves but we know
from experience that a percentage of all documents the
bank sends will not be returned. The only way we can
filter the serious people from the time wasters is to
request this fee as a REFUNDABLE DEPOSIT. We will
refund the shipping fee to you after you sign and
return the agreement to the bank.

If you'd still like to take part then we require your
$40 deposit within 7 days. Simply make your spend to
e-gold account 1194480, then send us an email with the
batch number, your name and your address. Our email
address is deposits@freeloanopp.com. If your batch
number is incorrect then we'll ban your email address
and IP address from making further submissions, so
please ensure the batch number is correct. This measure
is to deter time-wasters.

I hope this news hasn't dampened your enthusiasm for our
program. The rewards are far too great for a refundable
deposit of just $40 to get in the way. However, we
understand fully if you decide not to take part.

In 7 days time the bank will begin sending the necessary
paperwork via courier to all those who are taking part.

As a special bonus we will also send you a 3 page report
containing a listing of private high yield investment
programs that you won't find advertised anywhere. These
are legitimate pooled programs with minimum investments
as low as $200. These programs are run by well known
investment groups who will guarantee your funds in
writing. Some even allow you to keep the funds in a
blocked account with any one of several well known
international banks, so you never lose signatory
control over your investment.

I know you will find this report to be extremely useful
and profitable.

Once again, our e-gold account number is 1194480, and we
require your $40 refundable deposit within 7 days if you
wish to participate.

All that now remains is for me to wish you all a very
happy and prosperous 2005....

freeloanopp.com

My advice- keep well away!

Geoff



Posted by: betrdanevr

Don't think you'll get any nasties. At least I didn't, and I went where "the brave dare not tread." (You end up at a Yahoo forum)


Though many may think this is a take-off from FreelandOpps, what they're "offering" makes their site name rather apropos: "free" "loan." It'a the offer of a self-liquidating loan, whatever that is (in reality? LOL).

As of yesterday (or the day before), they wanted $40 to send one the loan docs.

I ain't biting.



Posted by: forwardone

Terri, good to know there weren`t any problems after you visited the site.

I haven`t been there, but I was really passing on a warning which I`d seen posted elsewhere.

Quote:
I received that url from an old friend a few days ago. As I do with any url I don't completely know, I scanned my system before I went there. I won't go into detail about what the program is about, as it sounds like a complete ###### to me, but I will recommend that noone should visit that site. I scanned my system again after leaving the site, and found three keylogger programs. I quickly deleted these from my system and rescanned again just to make sure.

Just wanted to let everyone know! Be safe, Be secure, and Beware!
Either way though, as you say, this is one program that does look dodgy.

Geoff



Posted by: betrdanevr

You're right, Geoff. Much better to be safe than sorry.

It's just that I've seen so much hooting and hollering about viruses/keyloggers reported at different sites and they didn't "pan out." (Safe-mail, etc.)

But wise advice, still the same.




eXTReMe Tracker