Pages: 1

E-Gold WARNING - DO NOT CLICK ON THE LINK

(Click here to view the original thread with full colors/images)


Posted by: admin

Just got this WARNING from Victor at tb2i

thanks Victor for the warning

___________________________________________

Today I have received to emails supposedly from e-gold, the first one has a link to the fake e-gold page - DO NOT LOGIN to your e-gold account through that link!

The second email had a link, and after following it, my firewall has reported the activity of some malicious script, so I just blocked it.

If you have received any emails from e-gold asking you to click any link for any reason, I would strongly suggest you ignore and delete it immediately!

Shall you have any questions on this matter please feel free to ask them here http://tb2i.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=6564#6564

Be careful
Victor
TB2I.com Admin



Posted by: ezyman

Quote:
Originally Posted by hphyips
The second email had a link, and after following it, my firewall has reported the activity of some malicious script, so I just blocked it.


Hi Phil

Are you still using ZA firewall to block the intrusion? Can Norton block that too? Do you know that? Thanks alot.



Posted by: admin

Hi EM

Actually the warning was from Victor at the tb2i, maybe he or Neo can comment

If you don't have a Fire Wall download the FREE ZA one NOW

And scan for trojans once a day with Ad Aware

These two things will greatly help to protect your e-currency accounts =D>



Posted by: admin

Hi EM, here are the links

Quote:
Their are some simple precautions that you can take to help secure your own computer

1. Install a fire wall, can be downloaded for free at -

http://www.zonelabs.com/store/content/home.jsp

2. Scan for trojans etc. at least once a day, can be downloaded for free at -

http://www.lavasoftusa.com/

3. Scan for viruses weekly

4. Frequently change your passwords




Posted by: ezyman

HI Phil, thansk for the advise. I have a Norton firewall on my pc. I just wanna to know whether Norton firewall can block that intrusion too like ZA.

Regards



Posted by: neo

Actually it would not be an intrusion, unless the access of the cracking site caused an immediate "attack" from the crack site, when the browser downloaded the web page from their site.

The other reason for the firewall blovking anything is if a trojan is installed, or victor has blocked ip addresses setup. In this case its not an intrusion but rather a program trying to "call home"

A firewall is only a "last line of defense" against trojans, in case one actually tries to "dial home". It is not foolproof and incorrect firewall settings can let them through. You need to get a trojan scanner, eg the ones phil already mentioned or www.pestpatrol.com (use free version).

Hope this helps

Neo



Posted by: Anonymous

I have been told by egold that they do NOT send out emails unless in response to a question. Take heed.

Fred




eXTReMe Tracker